Marshall School of Medicine names new chair to lead Department of Dermatology


HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – The Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine has named a Boone County, West Virginia, physician the new chair of its Department of Dermatology.

Shane E. Cook, M.D., assumed the role of department chair and associate professor of dermatology on Nov. 1, and oversees the clinical, research and educational activities of the department. Cook will work to expand the department’s clinical services and research activities with ultimate goals of establishing a dermatology residency program and fellowship training opportunities.

Cook earned his Bachelor of Science from West Virginia Wesleyan College in Buckhannon, West Virginia, followed by his Doctor of Medicine at Marshall University. He completed his dermatology residency at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston, South Carolina, where he served as chief resident. For the past three years, he has served as a dermatologist at Boone Memorial Hospital in Madison, West Virginia. 

“As both an alumnus and West Virginia native, Dr. Cook exemplifies our medical school’s commitment to rural health, and his expertise will help ensure patients across southern West Virginia have access to outstanding dermatology care and treatment,” said Bobby L. Miller, M.D., interim dean of the school of medicine.

Cook’s areas of clinical expertise include skin cancers, acne, psoriasis, eczema and rosacea. He is certified by the American Board of Dermatology, a fellow of the American Academy of Dermatology and vice president of the West Virginia Dermatologic Society.

Cook will practice at the Marshall Dermatology locations in Huntington (1934 11th Avenue) and in Teays Valley (300 Corporate Center Drive, Scott Depot). For appointments and referrals, please call 304-691-1930.

Cook succeeds longtime Huntington dermatologist Charles Yarbrough, M.D., who served as inaugural chair of the department since 2014. Yarbrough announced his intent to step back from his role as chair earlier this year, but remains with the department and will continue to see patients and teach medical students and residents on a part-time basis.


About the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine 

The Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine is a community-based medical school established in 1977. Located in Huntington, West Virginia, the School of Medicine trains physicians, scientists and other professionals to meet the unique health care needs of rural and underserved communities. Learn more at 

Media Relations Contact

Michele McKnight
Assistant Director of External Affairs

Receive Marshall Health News

The Marshall Health newsroom offers our latest news releases, which are distributed through a Marshall University electronic mailing list.

To be added to this list, please e-mail your name, job title, e-mail address, media outlet and location to

Sign Up for Healthy Herd Updates

Sign up for Marshall Health's official blog. This digital resource is full of stories, recipes, health and wellness information to help you on your wellness journey. 

News Release Archives

2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 20202019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015