Members of the Marshall Health Board of Directors guide the 501(c)3 nonprofit clinical arm of the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine in its mission to provide excellence in patient care and improve the health of the communities we serve.

Marshall Health Board Officers

Joseph I. Shapiro, MD

Vice Chair
Joseph E. Evans, MD

Paulette Wehner, MD

Marshall Health Board of Directors

James B. Becker, MD

Krista L. Denning, MD

Paul B. Ferguson, MD

Susan L. Flesher, MD

Stephen M. Petrany, MD

Jessie Shields, MD

Mark A. Studeny, MD

Non-Voting Members

Layton Cottrill, Esq.
University President’s Designee

Kevin W. Yingling, RPh, MD
President & CEO, Mountain Health Network

Senior Management Staff (non-voting)

Beth L. Hammers, MBA
Chief Executive Officer

Shannon L. Browning, RPh, MD
Chief Medical Information Officer

Michael J. McCarthy, MA
Chief Information Officer

J. Matthew Straub, MBA, CPA
Chief Financial Officer

Nathan C. Ward, Esq.
Chief Operating Officer

Department Chairs (non-voting)

Anthony M. Alberico, MD

Peter A. Chirico, MD

David A. Denning, MD

Mehiar El-Hamdani, MD
Internal Medicine

James W. Gigantelli, MD

Suzanne Holroyd, MD
Psychiatry & Behavioral Medicine

Raj K. Khanna, DMD, MD
Dentistry & Oral Surgery

James C. Jensen, MD

David C. Jude, MD
Obstetrics & Gynecology

Ali Oliashirazi, MD
Orthopaedic Surgery

Lawrence M. Wyner, MD

Charles L. Yarbrough, MD